the comfort granted. 

When someone is crying, of course the noble thing to do is to comfort them, to be there for them. Even if you have nothing to say. 

Just hug them and keep repeating “I’m right here for you. It’s okay. Get it out of your system. Just cry.” You might think it won’t make a difference. But to them, it’s the biggest comfort they need. 

 Now these are the things I wish I can do. You see, I’m not completely familiar with the concept of friendship. I’m an introvert. I get lost in my own thoughts. And most importantly, I don’t know what’s the basic human naturely thing to do when I see my friend coming at me crying. YouKnowWhatImSayin’? 

Which made me wonder, if I was crying what do I want the other person to do for me? And then I had all these ideas come to my mind the same seconds she was coming my way. 

I want someone to not keep asking what’s wrong and shut up and just hug me. I want someone to keep repeating that it’s okay, It’s gonna be okay. Even when i know it fucking wont be. I want to hide my face in their body and just cry. Feeling safe. Feeling like after I finish crying, I am ready to act okay for the rest of the day. I want a friendship that I can cry in silence, but feel like they understand why I’m having a mental breakdown.  

And to me, that is the noblest thing to do for a friend. 

Heaven knows we need never be ashamed of our tears, for they are rain upon the blinding dust of earth, overlying our hard hearts. I was better after I cried, than before–more sorry, more aware of my own ingratitude, more gentle. -Charles Dickens

One thought on “the comfort granted. 

  1. shoe shopping on saturday and working on sunday. Yeah, show biz! You're not a hipster, you're the real deal and so is Jon. I think I'm in love with this &qrur;Dollyoockets" line of clothes. I've never heard of them before I started reading you. Beautiful prints. Have fun at the jumble than go home and rest.

    Like

Leave a Reply

