The Greatest Fear Of A High School-er.

Just like racism, religion, and sexuality is receiving a lot of criticism, being a “Loner” at school is the same. 
I won’t say anything I’m not sure of, because I am being criticized by my own friends and family over this matter. Now I want to understand, where is the problem in being alone and sitting alone at school?  Where is the problem in not wanting to do group work cause working alone is safer for that A ? Why is it so misunderstood with not wanting to get hurt, and not understood for just wanting to be alone? 

At first I allowed the peer-pressure to get to me. due to how many times my ‘long-distance’ best friends and my family talked about me, told me I need to make friends in order to be happy at school, in order to survive high school. they convinced me – After 5 months of sitting alone at high school- that I should make friends and come out of my shell.

and so I did…

now I won’t say my story, but I will, however, say the things that all the high school “Loners” out there need to understand;

  • IT’S PERFECTLY OKAY TO SIT ALONE.

Needing friends in order to survive high school is not entirely correct. Yes, it’s good to have one or two. but you don’t need them in order to be happy. It’s perfectly okay to walk through the halls alone and with confidence.

  • HAVING A LOT OF FRIENDS IS OKAY TOO. 

Now I’m not saying that you shouldn’t make friends, if you feel like you can’t go through high school without friends than make tons and tons of friends. as long as it makes you happy.

  • BEING CRITICIZED AS A LONER IS NOT A BAD THING.

It just means that you’re perfectly okay to grab the whole world in your hand without the help of others. you better do you boo.

  • YOU DON’T HAVE TO COMPARE YOURSELF TO THE “COOL KIDS” 

It’s just four years, those cool kids that you feel insecure around, they won’t be around forever. after you finish high school who knows when you’ll meet them again.

  • GRAB A BOOK. SIT ON YOUR PHONE. OR WRITE IN A DIARY. 

Now I know very well how lunch can be boring in some days. that you feel like you can’t take it anymore. you should read, write, or listen to music. the time will pass. hang on.

  • USE THAT ALONE TIME TO CREATE YOURSELF INSTEAD OF DOING NOTHING. 

“The most creative act you will ever undertake is the act of creating yourself.” -Deepak Chopra

  • JUST BECAUSE YOU ARE ALONE, DOES NOT MEAN THAT YOU DON’T MATTER. 

YOU are beautiful, amazing, talented, and worth it. and if there’s nobody at your school that makes you feel like this, than you don’t need to lower yourself just to fit in their standards.

you’ll always have a friend in me. I love you. and as long as you love yourself. you’ll never be alone. 

Leave a Reply

